Skip to content

It’s Times Like These When I Really Hate Being American

September 11, 2010

As you may have guessed from the title I’m American and for the moment (and many other moments throughout the day) I wish I was a Brit. Now I know there used to be a big rivalry between the States & England but that was centuries ago and we’re all on good terms again what with allowing the British Invasion to take place and all that. (I’m talking The Beatles here.) In fact we’re on such good terms that we now air a large portion of each other’s shows (or in the case of America air Britain’s shows than do a poorly done remake of it like we do everything else).

But why am I bringing this up? Because the 3rd ‘series’ as tv seasons are called in the UK of one of the best UK shows ever is premiering tonight across the pond.

Photo source: Always Dangerous, Fully Fabulous

That’s right Merlin was on tonight and I can’t legally watch it until 2011 when SyFy gets it. 😥 My sister and I found this show at the end of April and absolutely fell in love with it. It’s funny, the guys are adorkable, and the girls are easy to relate to and likable. It’s got magic and good special effects to add to the lovely sets & costumes. Sometimes the plots are cheesy, predictable and formatted but it’s still a much anticipated show in my household and even more so with the 2nd season cliffhanger.

Now I don’t want to spoil it for anyone but the show is about a teenaged Merlin who is the servant of teenaged Prince Arthur. Merlin is a secret wizard who gets into a lot of trouble by using/hiding his magic. There’s also a rather inconsiderate king, a lady & her maid, a dragon and a healer. Plus other random characters. I highly recommend it if you like comedy or medieval fantasy. The whole 1st season is available on Netflix streaming if you’d like to try it out. (And in the UK tv seasons are only 13 episodes long generally so its not like it’ll take you long to catch up.) I’m gonna try really hard not to watch this show illegally but if I cave I promise I won’t post spoilers without giving out proper warning.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 12:59 am

    Wow! This can be 1 of the top blogs I’ve actually arrive throughout on this subject. Merely Magnificent

Leave a Reply

