Skip to content

Thank God For Tv- A Thanksgiving Post

November 25, 2010

Posted by TheOfficialSpike

Don’t you wish all Thanksgiving gatherings could be like that? Well probably not but that’s what makes TV so special! It’s a time to gather together and indulge in the stories that are both visual, sharable and moving. But what does Thanksgiving mean to you? Is it about eating food? Football? (Ick) Being with your family? Or is it about…RITUAL SACRIFICE!!!!!!!!!

  Video Source jaymzadams

Yes now you know what I’ll be watching after work today! (Oh don’t feel bad for me, I’m soon to be unemployed and it’s time and a half, I’m a Happy Camper. I’ll have a real Thanksgiving in a few days.)

So what am I thankful for this year? Why all you wonderful readers, subscribers, and commentors! Thank you for making my first year of blogging so fun! I still can’t believe it’s almost over 😦 but then on to year two and much wonderfulness! (As you can see my photo placement is already getting much better!) I’m thankful that I managed to start college classes and get awesome grades while working, going to the gym 3 times a week, and sort of keep up with my social life (but not cleaning, never cleaning), feel free to hate me now.

I’m thankful for the awesome relationship I have with my mom, even if she’s determined to find me a boyfriend by Christmas. (Good luck mom!) I love her dearly and our relationship has only grown over the years. I’m also thankful for my only slightly annoying little sister (Who’s name doesn’t start with the same letter as mine) who is slowly becoming someone I don’t mind living with. On the off-chance she reads my blog, I just want to say that I love watching movies/tv with you, I love that you know my shows almost as well as your own, and I love it when we talk about books that are amazing and awesome enough for us both to like.

Photo Source: http://www.poster.net

 I’m thankful that my grandma is now a recovering cancer patient and has been making a great recovery these past few months. For my cat, who may be short on lives but she’s still got some left to use. For my other pets, because they never stopped loving me. For the friends I’ve made on the internet, my day is always better when I have you guys to talk to.

 I’m mega super thankful that my best friend is home this week and is maybe thinking about switching to a college closer to home. For my other best friend who agreed to do NaNoWriMo with me and has yet to hate me for it.

 My work friends for making work bearable and even fun at times. For my local librarians who know me by name and are willing to talk about tv or books. I’m thankful for all the great books, tv, and movies I’ve watched/read this year and all the ones that are soon to come out.

 I’m thankful that we live in a society that let’s us fight for shows that we love. I’m thankful for things like Netflix, Tivo and Hulu that let me watch my favorite shows over and over whenever I want without having to worry about library fines or expensive dvds. I’m thankful for inner library loan which is the greatest invention like, ever. YouTube, for all the awesome music, fanvids and webshows I’ve found on you, Twitter for keeping me up to date in the world, Facebook for keeping friends close. I’m thankful that my car has heat, my iPods, my laptop, and my big comfy bed. And you know, mascara, earrings, glitter, the color pink, and Mountain Dew.

 Now for a special added bonus, Marshall wrote us a song just for the occasion, the lights if you would Ted- 

  Video Source OktawianArtist

Yep, I think How I Met Your Mother shall now be added to the Thanksgiving marathon making it a ‘Thank God for Alyson Hannigan: Slapsgiving edition’.

Have a safe and happy holiday everyone! And remember if you’re doing NaNoWriMo today’s the first day to verify your 50k (or more) words. Perhaps I can work a turkey feast into my novel?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

