Skip to content

Star Trek 2: The Story Has Officially Been Broken

December 3, 2010
Photo Source: http://www.fanpop.com

The ever knowledgeable Blaster.com is reporting the screenwriters of Star Trek 2, Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci, have officially watched enough old school Star Trek episodes to know what they’re going to put in the big screen sequel. About time! You guys do know that there were only 2 season of Star Trek: the Original Series right? Though according to Dr. Sheldon Copper on The Big Bang Theory season 2 is the only one worth living for. But yes, you can all shout for joy at this exciting news. A reboot that’s paying homage to the original? It’s practically unheard of now a days. (*cough*Buffy*cough*) I wasn’t sure what I was expecting from J.J. Abrams’ original movie when I watched it for the first time last year but I certainly got something better than what I was hoping for! Though that might be because I’m more Star Wars then Star Trek and was not expecting much but hey, my mother grew up Trekkie so the movie was a big deal in my house. She loved it and I must say it really spoke to a younger generation of fans who’d seen a few movies but weren’t really hard-core fans. Plus Chris Pine was excellent but as I frequently have to remind my mother I saw him first. (Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement)

So what can we expect from Star Trek 2? Kurtzman and Orci aren’t telling but now that the new universe has been set up, the character origins are in place and the crew has been fully assembled it’s time to push the characters in ways they weren’t able to be pushed before. While old Trek helped to get the inspiration going it’s going to hopefully go the route of The Empire Strikes Back (See there’s a reason I referenced Star Wars earlier) by furthering the story, seeking resolve, maybe getting Shatner to appear? (No body hold your breath, seriously.) Now it’s time to write the script, film it (No official word on who’s returning to reprise their roles but until we hear otherwise let’s assume they all are), and release it. Summer 2012 is looking like a good slot.
So what do you want to happen in the sequel? Cyborgs? More Klingons? References to Next Generation or Deep Space Nine? Remember we don’t know what else came through that worm hole so we could have a great number of things happening in the sequel. The anything can happen aspect just makes it more fun.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 8:24 am

    I do know that the villain will be a classic trek villain but it will NOT be Khan. I wrote a post on it several weeks back. I’m hoping for Trelane since it is rumored that he is from the Q Continuum. A young Trelane would make a great foil for Kirk and the crew. I am a TV and movie fan and I really love your site.

    • December 4, 2010 11:15 am

      Thank you! I’m not too familiar with Star Trek villains other than Kahn but I agree that they should use a different villain. Kahn had his run, using him would conflict with that and finding an actor to play him would be difficult.

Leave a Reply

