Skip to content

Finding Myself

January 12, 2011
 

Photo Source: Buffyfest.blogspot.com

A year ago today, after debating it for about a week I finally created this blog sometime before noon if memory serves. I’d looked at Blogspot, but there was something about WordPress that made me want to use it. I think it had something to do with the app. (I frequently blog using the app instead of the computer simply because I’m slightly addicted to my iTouch.) A year ago I had no idea what I was doing. Today…I know more than I did back then. I wouldn’t say I know everything as I still have a lot to learn but I know a lot. Like how to resize pictures and arrange them in a pretty manner, (Some of those old posts where I didn’t know how to do that make me shudder at the very memory.) how to upload videos 2 different ways; the easy way and the other way that involves typing instead of copy and pasting into the upload feature which I guess you could call the HTML way, how to schedule posts, how late I can post about something (Within 2-3 days), it might all sound basic to the nonblogger but when you’re learning everything through trial and error it feels like you’ve run a marathon

I mean, first you have to figure out what you’re going to blog about, then you have to find extra content to put in it like pictures or video, you have to make sure you’re accurate and don’t plagiarise someone’s work and ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS say where you found a picture or video so you don’t get sued (or at the very least say who owns the rights to something), you could keep doing that over and over but you’re still missing out on some key things that will keep you from succeeding. First you need a reason for blogging. Do you want the view count? The comments? The fame? Or do you want to live out your childhood dream of being a reporter by sharing what you love with the world and maybe meet some like-minded people out there? Do you want to use your blog as an outlet of creative and geeky expression? Those are my two reasons for blogging. It’s helpful to know your reason because it greatly affects your tone and the general feeling of your blog. If you’re in it for the fame it shows, if you do it because you love it then people will be able to tell. My friend Amy over at www.confessionsofafashioneditor.co.uk recently did a post on what makes us bloggers that raised some interesting questions. Subconsciously I knew why I started this blog a year ago but it wasn’t until I read that post that I really knew I was a blogger and why. If you want to read some of our thoughts on the matter you can check out the post here-> http://www.confessionsofafashioneditor.co.uk/What-makes-blogger-13091235#comment Why’d I bring this up? Because it wasn’t until I knew why I blogged that I really figured out my tone. The tone of this blog has matured with me over the past year. At first it was meek and shy, totally unsure of herself not sure if she belonged much like I frequently do in life. Over time both myself and the blog matured and found our voice as we grew confident with ourselves. Now we face the world as mature, confident and capable young woman who know who we are and that we belong, 90% of the time. We’re still working on that last 10% but you always need to leave yourself room for improvement as no one is perfect.

This post isn’t very reporter-y, or even geeky so why am I doing it? Because I am not a robot. I’m a human being. I’m not afraid to be myself. I am brave enough to put myself out into the world. Frankly my best posts have been ones where I actually put myself into it instead of standing on the sideline objectively. I can state my own opinion and put my thoughts and personality out into the world. I’m not afraid to get personal because I am no longer ashamed of myself. I like who I am and I like what the blog’s become. No more big changes for us. (This is the third theme/color scheme I’ve used and I think this one’s the best of the lot.)

So this has been my soul finding journey for the past year. I’m out of high school, out of a job for the time being (don’t feel bad I was starting to hate it there anyway. Having it close down was almost fate in a way as I don’t think I would have been able to leave on my own.), and going to school. I’m finding myself and the blog has helped me do that immensely. Recently I was having doubts if I’d still want to be a Kindergarten teacher some day, I didn’t always want to be but that was my current variation of ‘I want to be a teacher when I grow up’ but the instant I walked into class yesterday I knew that for right now, I was exactly where I wanted to be. I want to work with children and maybe one day be a novelist. NaNoWriMo helped me find that out by realizing that I love writing more than I thought I did. I’ve really come into my own this year and I felt that sharing my tale would be a far better use of both my time and yours then just a random ‘it’s my blog’s birthday post!’
 
This song came up on my iPod as I was writing this and I thought it described everything I’d been threw this past year so perfectly I had to add it. Naturally I was able to find a video focusing on one of the biggest influences of my life. I’d like the thank http://www.youtube.com/user/SlayersArchive for creating such a beautiful video titled ‘The Life & Death of Buffy Summers.’
 
That being said…It’s my Blog’s Birthday!!!!! So here’s to another year of growth and all that jazz. I plan to blog as much as I can in addition to working on my novels everyday which is my main New Years Resolution. Because I’ve found who I am and I’m not going to lose that. Perhaps college really is the place where you find yourself.

Photo Source: http://studyprof.com

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2011 5:46 am

    Thank you so much for the link – and Happy Blogiversary!

    🙂

    I completely forgot to add you to my blogroll – rectifying that now!!

    xx

    • January 13, 2011 10:21 am

      Thank you! Teehee blogrolls are impossible to keep updated I keep putting mine off.

Leave a Reply

