Skip to content

Script Time!

April 1, 2011

 Did you think NaNoWriMo was fun? Want to try your hand at writing a script for a movie/tv show/comic book/graphic novel? Then you should join me in doing Script Frenzy. Like NaNoWriMo it’s done by the Office of Letters and Light and helps you get started with your writing career by making you sit down and write that novel/script! (Or if you’re like me, give you a 55k word head start on your currently 100k word manuscript.) With Script Frenzy you have from 12 am April 1st (Because only fools would start something at that hour, or maybe fools are the ones who aren’t) until 12 pm April 30th to write 100 pages of script. Any script, about anything. No one judges your work and when you’re done with it you don’t have to do anything with it, it can just sit on your computer forever.

Do you win anything? Pride. With NaNoWriMo you got a printable certificate, a free proof copy of your novel (that you have to submit by a certain date in summer. I have to look that up cause I don’t want to miss out on that.) and some badges to put on your website or blog. It’s a way to get yourself motivated and to more importantly stay motivated. They also offer great motivational articles for guest speakers and tips for writing your script. (Oops back to Script Frenzy again. I hope you’re not getting confused or anything.) It doesn’t cost anything thou they love it when you donate or buy some awesome swag. You don’t even have to be signed up prior to April 1st, you can start on April 30th if you like thou how you’ll get 100 pages in a day is beyond me. And nothing bad will happen to you if you don’t complete your goal. It’s just a way to challenge ourself and see if you can do it.

Interested? Go ahead and sign up on Script Frenzy to access all the tips and interact with others who’re crazy enough to do it with you because everything is more fun with friends after all. No plot? No Problem! They’ve got some great plot generators on the site to help get you started. And it doesn’t have to be 100 pages about the same thing, it can be a series of 5 pages scripts if you really want. I will be writing a graphic novel spin-off of one of the stories I started writing a few years ago that when I have time I plan to revive with an improved plan of action. It’s going to be cool. What’s it like doing one of these challenges? I’ll let ALL CAPS tell you about it.

 Posted by  (Ok it’s not JUST like that. It’s really fun to. But it does kind of take over your life.)

P.S. if you’re reading this post I’m already writing my script! The power of scheduling posts. I hope I’m having as much fun as I think I’m having. 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2011 3:25 pm

    Oh my! I wish I had tome to do Script Frenzy this year! I’m definitely going to be doing NaNoWriMo because it’ll be my summer holiday in Australia by November, so I’ll be nice and free… but I’ve never really written a script! This would be such a great challenge…

    DAMN YOU COURSEWORK.

    Stoopid degree 😉

    • April 2, 2011 11:20 pm

      It’s strange so far. It’s a very different medium style wise but I found this awesome program on the site that I’m starting to fall in love with that is making it easier and it does everything! Scripts of all sorts, novels, storyboarding, character profiles, and free to boot. Celtx is now the coolest thing since iTunes hit the interweb.

  2. April 14, 2011 12:02 am

    Hey, my group is just establishing our first web site, searching and figuring out what is needed. This weblog caught out right away. I’m fired up about this, and adore the design of your site. Are you able to let me know what “theme” it’s?

    • April 26, 2011 9:47 pm

      Sorry for the late response but the theme I use is Vigilance. It’s for both self hosted and nonself hosted WordPress blogs. From there I customized colors, header and widgets (there are several customizable features on this theme). Best of luck on your web site!

Leave a Reply

