Skip to content

Let’s Talk About…My Buffy/Dean Addiction

April 20, 2011

Two of a Kind

No one knows you better than yourself right? So by this logic we should never be surprised by ourselves and the things we do right? WRONG! I’m always surprising myself and this is just the latest surprise. I was sorting out my favorited links, you know putting them in organized folders such as links, photos, Veronica Mars, Merlin, so on and so forth when I noticed a rather weird trend. Most of the photos making their way into the ‘Cross Over’ folder had a similar theme to them, Buffy the Vampire Slayer/Supernatural mash-up, specifically ones that promote the coupleage of Buffy and Dean. I had no idea how much I ‘shipped the Bean untill that moment. I mean who wouldn’t ‘ship them? A collision of Buffy and Supernatural would be epic and what would be better than those two being together? It’s like Nancy Drew and Frank Hardy, a fun teasebut nothing will ever come of it but the attraction is there. (Yes I spent a rather large portion of my life reading Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys books.) My newly discovered love for The Bean runs deep, for what other couple in the history of the world has died to save the world, died to save their younger siblings, faced down death, averted the apocalypse and spent their life wishing they could be just a little more normal but loving every minute of their supernaturally inclined lives?

 

 This photo sums up the similarities between the characters on both shows rather nicely (Sam being lucky enough to be compared to Willow rather than Dawn) though the Castiel/Anya one is purely for entertainment purposes only and not for real hard-core actual factual analysis. Buffy and Dean both diss the higher powers that sought to control them choosing to fight evil without them but come crawling back a few times in search of information. They have a close-knit band of supporters/partners in crime and seek much of their knowledge and advise from the honorary father figures in their lives when life gets tough or they’re just too damn lazy to do their own research. (Granted demonic fistfights are very exhausting and often leave one in need of sleep rather than a thirst for knowledge so I acknowledge that sometimes it’s of better interest to have someone else tell you how to kill the newest demon of the week. However they do tend to take Bobby/Giles for granted.)

In short The Bean is awesome and I have lots of Fan Art of them that I will now show you in the form of a mini slide show. You’re welcome fellow ‘shippers.

 Because the Impala is cooler than the Mom-mobile Buffy has driven on the few occasions she’s driven it is the car of choice for the couple. And because Buffy drives like a spazz Dean would do all the driving and Buffy would be sitting in the front being pretty.

 

 The imagery is gorgeous but the plot to the caption confuses me. (If you can’t see it, it involves Wolfram & Hart’s resurrection.) Wolfram & Hart was an Angel thing, Lindsay is dead and never wore anything that old school-ishly sexy and since when has he been in love with Buffy? Have they even met? Never mind why he’d be resurrecting Wolfram and Hart but the imagery is really pretty and it’s one of my favorites. (I’d rant about his hair but this is all about Buffy/Dean right now. I’ll do a hair rant another day.)

 Apparently Xander and Dawn are the only ones cool enough to hang with Buffy’s new boyfriend. Um really? Must find an exact replica of Buffy’s shoes ASAP.

 Um Dean? Sam’s the one who sacrifices his girlfriends not you. Your love was supposed to be EPIC!

Photo Source: http://pdhomes.net

Huh, must be a day ending in Y. Who knew?

But wait! My Bean love runs further than that because I have many a Bean Centric video hanging out in my Youtube playlist titled, you guessed it, Crossovers. Here are some of the best ones for your viewing pleasure.

  Posted by BuffyFreak09

 Posted by BuffyFromTreeHill

Posted by ColeSource08

Posted by Crystalsc

So that’s the fictional crossover epic love I ship. Admit it, we’ve all got one so now you’ve got to tell me yours. Or tell me how much you agree with me on The Bean’s awesomeness. While I’m rather heartbroken Sarah Michelle Gellar is returning to tv with her own show (cross fingers) rather than guest starring on Supernatural SHE’S RETURNING TO TV WITH HER OWN SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! I could not be happier over this! Today is a good day just because I thought of that.

*So originally these photos were linked to the flicker page I found them on but then the creater of the photos left a comment on this post asking if I could link them to her website so she could get full credit for her work. Who am I to say no to such a talented person? So I have changed the photo soure to her website which is really cool! There’s so much pretty over there and she’s even more obsessed with The Bean then I am. Instant bookmark this one! http://dana.thedudes.nu/chosenart
8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2011 1:28 am

    Hi, stumbled upon this post while hunting other things on google. Noticed you posted some of my art, would appreciate full credit – flickr is not the original source. All my Buffy/Dean art is located over at http://dana.thedudes.nu/chosenart and both the Lindsay/Bean piece and the Bean/Xander/Dawn piece is posters for a fanfics 🙂

    • October 31, 2011 7:04 am

      I’d love to change the photo source and give you full credit. Since Flicker is where I found the photos that’s where I linked them to but I will write myself a note to have it changed in the next few days. Too funny that you stumbled upon my post.

      • crossoverjunkie permalink
        May 23, 2012 1:07 am

        Thank you so much for the sweet comment and change of source 🙂

        I know, and it’s a really good one. Love when I find people gushing over this couple since so many thinks we’re insane 😉 I blame the stumble on me checking to see where my Buffy/Dean art has gone off to in the world now that it’s all grown up 😉

        Oh, and Chosen Art will be back soon 🙂

        (and for some reason I’m being listed as crossoverjunkie but this is Dana, in case you were wondering. Using my backup name and all that ;))

  2. Taylor permalink
    May 4, 2012 10:37 pm

    Hey! saw your post and yes I agree this coupling it addictive!!!! Here’s a channel on youtube- this creator (Lisa) is amazing at Dean/Buffy videos. Check it out!
    http://www.youtube.com/user/XdwlLisaX

  3. Kaye permalink
    May 16, 2012 10:50 am

    LOL – The ‘Out of Time’ image that Dana made me was for a fic I started – read the beginning and it would make sense! xxx

    • May 17, 2012 11:56 am

      If you ever make the fic available on the internet this would be a great picture to use as the ‘cover/main image’. It kinda has that book cover vibe to it which is probably why I fell in love with it immediately. <<<major book nerd lol

      • crossoverjunkie permalink
        May 23, 2012 1:04 am

        I’m beginning to feel like a stalker *lol* 😉
        The fic is actually already online over here: http://www.tthfanfic.org/Story-18738/Kaye+Out+of+Time.htm

        It’s really good, sadly far from finished but the poster makes a whole lot more sense when you read it 🙂

      • May 23, 2012 1:38 am

        O   O    o

        I have fanfic to read now! (Hope my little emotion face looks ok on the blog like it does in my email.) And nice ‘stalkers’ like you are always welcome here.

Leave a Reply

