Skip to content

Another November, another 50K

November 30, 2011

20111130-230008.jpg

This is what this year’s NaNoWriMo stats look like. True to my New Years Resolution to write every day this year I wrote every day this November. I just didn’t always update my word count before midnight. (My resolution has been going quite well actually but that’s a story I’ll tell another time.)

So what was different about NaNoWriMo this time around? Well I made everything up as I went along. I didn’t have much of a plan, I didn’t know my characters very well and a couple of times I wondered if I’d run out of plot before the end of the month and my writing playlist? Yeah it doesn’t really exist. But despite the craziness of this November which was double that of last year, I finished. And it feels weird to be finished and be able to do something that I don’t have to do right this minute like write 1,667 words.

Am I pleased with the story? Hmm…the story has potential but I’m not as pleased with it as I was last year’s. Last year’s novel holds a very special place in my heart for many different reasons. I still need a couple days to wrap this year’s story up but when I’m finished with it I may read over it once or twice but I don’t think I’ll ever try to spruce it up enough to send it to a publisher. The idea was good and the characters had potential but right now I don’t think it lived up to it’s potential. I’m determined to finish it but I don’t think it was my best work. I’m sure there’s plot holes and the characters don’t behave very consistently and the story doesn’t feel very cohesive to me. Maybe I’ll feel differently about it after I let it sit for a while. But right now I think it’s going to be one of those stories that I keep on my hard drive and pull out to remind myself of how far I’ve come along in my writing.

What did I learn this time around? Well I learned that while I can be creative and on the spot with my writing I do better with more of a set plan. I also lived and died by the alarm on my iPod some days, word sprints were what kept me from falling behind as a lot of the story was written because I had to write something or risk falling way behind. I also learned that if I’m dedicated I can finish 50k words no matter how busy it just might involve a severe lack of sleep. (I had the pleasure of almost getting 11 hours of sleep today after 2 weeks of getting 7 hours on average if I was lucky and I still feel tired right now.)

Mostly I’m glad I finished instead of failing like I did for Camp NaNoWriMo. Part of the failure was the story and my displeasure at certain parts, part of it was my life at the time and the rest of it was that my cabin mates? Yeah none of us finished, one by one we all got further and further behind or quit altogether so atmosphere is an important part of the writing experience. (I didn’t quit I just failed and I’m very proud of that difference.) Finishing this year was what I needed to do in order to prove to myself that I am still capable of doing these challenges and I’m looking forward to doing Script Frenzy in April. (And I’ve already got an idea for that.)

So now with the semester gradually ending (finally! Major college level burn out was felt these past several days if not weeks) and NaNoWriMo over I’m faced with a lot of free time. I plan to start reading for fun again and continuing with my work on my 2 stories I’ve been working on as part of my resolution (slowly no big word challenges) and take a moment to relax again. If all the free time doesn’t kill me lol. Earlier today I went a little nuts on the library website, lots of graphic novels are coming my way 🙂

If you did NaNoWriMo this year I’d love to compare notes on how this year went weather it was your first time or your 10th. Leaving a list of the things you plan to do with your free time is also acceptable.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 3:21 am

    Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

