Skip to content

Prepping for the Frenzy

March 25, 2012

So Script Frenzy is starting very soon (April 1st! So close) which means it’s time to start prepping. Ack! I’m even more unprepared for this than I was for this past NaNoWriMo. There are several pros and cons to this. (If you don’t know what Script Frenzy is or think it would be fun to write 100 pages worth of script in a month head on over to this link and check them out.)

Pros
*You can pick any random idea that comes into your head and run with it.
*You have nothing planned out so you can never say you strayed from your original vision because you didn’t have one!
*You have total creative freedom – you can write about anything and it will all make perfect sense if you say it does!
*If you get writers block you can use any trick in the book to get words on a page until you’re no longer word blocked.

Those are awesome Pros right? Well let’s look at the Cons.

Cons
*You have no idea who your characters are, what they do, who they do it with, why they do it with these characters…the list goes on and on and the same applies the setting. So many questions!
*If you get writers block you don’t know what your goal is so you can’t work towards it.
*You have no idea what your story is about or what kind of a story you want to tell.
*You don’t have the same kind of commitment to a bunch of characters you just made up that you do for characters that took up residency in your brain weeks, months or years ago.

So that’s that. I’ve done Nanowrimo both ways, once with a plan and once without. I’m mega biased towards my first planned story because I really do feel that this story turned out to be my best. It has nothing to do with the fact that I ended up writing that book for 6 months and it ended up being over 150K words long. Nope not at all. (Also it’s awesome.)

Script Frenzy is one I didn’t plan out as much as Nanowrimo last year up I had a very clear vision of the characters and what the end goal was. Getting there and playing with the characters was all fun and games. 🙂 I don’t have a vision or characters yet but I do have a start of a story from years back that I think would do better as a graphic novel than it would as a novel. I just have to reread it and pray that I can keep the story going when I run out of pre-written words. And yes I’m pretty sure translating a story to script is legal. I think…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

